James Miskimen

Having Fun
James Miskimen, Having Fun

Hi! I’m James Miskimen, I am currently an International Business student and work-study at NorthWest Arkansas Community College and plan to Transfer to the Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas.

I graduated from Fayetteville High School in 2004. I tried out a semester at NWACC (intermediate algebra) in 2005 while working the overnight shift at Walgreens. I figured out fairly quickly that I needed more money to  help support my family (mom and younger sis) and I had no idea what I wanted to obtain an education for. To make a long story short, I took a break from college and worked at Arvest Bank for a total of five years, owned my own photography company that taught me more than it paid, and acted in several plays and short films.

I came back to NWACC after realizing that to continue my goals in life, I would need a higher education. I joined the SIFE group (now called Enactus) and have been actively involved in community development. I began my job as a work study soon after.

I have embraced my “inner nerd” and now truly enjoy coming to school; however, instead of just coming to obtain a degree, I come because I enjoy learning. It helps that I am involved in clubs such as NWACC Enactus (A community development / business club that I am President of for the 2013-14 semester) and EagleView student newspaper (photographer, graphic artist, and contributing writer).

I enjoy traveling and have had the Opportunity to visit Guatemala on four occasions with Enactus. I would love to continue traveling around the world and exploring the adventures I can take at home.

When it is time to relax I enjoy a drink and dinner with friends, or hanging out with my Mom and Sis playing rummy.

If you want to keep up with me outside of the blog, check out the “about.me” section on the right and follow my social media accounts.

Until next time ~ James

Leave a Reply

